- Home
- Insurance Licensing Certification
- NY-Independent-General-Adjuster Exam
- InsuranceLicensing.NY-Independent-General-Adjuster.v2026-11-07.q35 Practice Test
Question 6
An example of the insured's consideration is
Correct Answer: B
The correct answer is B. Consideration is one of the elements required for an enforceable insurance contract.
Consideration means something of legal value exchanged between the contracting parties. From the insured's side of an insurance transaction, the principal consideration consists of the premium, together with the representations and promises made in the application. From the insurer's side, consideration is the contractual promise to provide the insurance protection and pay covered claims according to the policy terms.
Of the available choices, a paid premium is therefore the clearest and most direct example of the insured's consideration. An application, option A, is primarily the mechanism through which the prospective insured requests coverage and provides underwriting information; the application itself is not the best answer to what constitutes consideration. A contract-signing requirement is procedural rather than the exchanged value supporting the contract. A notice of beneficiary is associated with identifying or changing the person entitled to receive certain policy benefits and is unrelated to contractual consideration.
The official Series 17-70 examination outline specifically places Contract Basics, Elements of a Legal Contract, Offer and Acceptance, and Consideration under Insurance Basics.
Accordingly, the premium supplied by the insured in exchange for the insurer's promise of coverage makes B correct.
Consideration means something of legal value exchanged between the contracting parties. From the insured's side of an insurance transaction, the principal consideration consists of the premium, together with the representations and promises made in the application. From the insurer's side, consideration is the contractual promise to provide the insurance protection and pay covered claims according to the policy terms.
Of the available choices, a paid premium is therefore the clearest and most direct example of the insured's consideration. An application, option A, is primarily the mechanism through which the prospective insured requests coverage and provides underwriting information; the application itself is not the best answer to what constitutes consideration. A contract-signing requirement is procedural rather than the exchanged value supporting the contract. A notice of beneficiary is associated with identifying or changing the person entitled to receive certain policy benefits and is unrelated to contractual consideration.
The official Series 17-70 examination outline specifically places Contract Basics, Elements of a Legal Contract, Offer and Acceptance, and Consideration under Insurance Basics.
Accordingly, the premium supplied by the insured in exchange for the insurer's promise of coverage makes B correct.
Question 7
A broken bone is the same as a
Correct Answer: A
The correct answer is A - fracture. A fracture is the medical term for a break in a bone. The break may be complete or partial and can be classified in numerous ways, including open versus closed, displaced versus nondisplaced, transverse, oblique, comminuted, stress, or other fracture patterns. MedlinePlus expressly identifies a fracture as a break in a bone and lists "broken bone" as an alternative description.
A dislocation differs because it involves bones being forced out of their normal relationship at a joint. A sprain involves ligaments, while a strain typically involves muscles or tendons. Although a serious traumatic event can produce more than one of these injuries simultaneously-for example, a fracture-dislocation-they remain medically distinct conditions.
For an independent general adjuster, accurate medical terminology is important when reviewing bodily injury claims. A diagnosis of fracture may affect emergency treatment, immobilization, surgery, rehabilitation, duration of disability, medical expenses, and the eventual evaluation of damages. The adjuster should therefore distinguish structural injury to bone from injuries involving joints, ligaments, muscles, and tendons.
Accordingly, the medical equivalent of a broken bone is a fracture, making A the only correct choice.
A dislocation differs because it involves bones being forced out of their normal relationship at a joint. A sprain involves ligaments, while a strain typically involves muscles or tendons. Although a serious traumatic event can produce more than one of these injuries simultaneously-for example, a fracture-dislocation-they remain medically distinct conditions.
For an independent general adjuster, accurate medical terminology is important when reviewing bodily injury claims. A diagnosis of fracture may affect emergency treatment, immobilization, surgery, rehabilitation, duration of disability, medical expenses, and the eventual evaluation of damages. The adjuster should therefore distinguish structural injury to bone from injuries involving joints, ligaments, muscles, and tendons.
Accordingly, the medical equivalent of a broken bone is a fracture, making A the only correct choice.
Question 8
Accident-only policies commonly include benefits due to losses related to
Correct Answer: C
The correct answer is C. Accident-only insurance is a limited form of accident and health coverage in which benefits are triggered by an accident or specified category of accidental event, rather than by sickness generally. The NAIC defines an accident as an unexpected event or circumstance without deliberate intent and describes accident-only insurance as coverage for death, dismemberment, disability, hospital treatment, or medical care caused or necessitated by an accident or specified kinds of accidents.
Option A is incorrect because illness is not converted into an accident simply because its onset is unexpected.
Coverage for sickness belongs to health or medical insurance provisions unless specifically included by another policy form. Option B, congenital diseases, similarly concerns medical conditions rather than accidental occurrences. Option D is too broad because the mere absence of intentional conduct does not automatically satisfy the policy's definition of an accidental injury or covered accident. There must be the required causal connection to an insured accidental event.
The Series 17-70 content outline expressly tests Accidental Injury, classes of accident and health coverage, limited policies, and specifically Accident-Only coverage.
Accordingly, a fortuitous, unexpected accidental event is the operative trigger, making C the correct answer.
Option A is incorrect because illness is not converted into an accident simply because its onset is unexpected.
Coverage for sickness belongs to health or medical insurance provisions unless specifically included by another policy form. Option B, congenital diseases, similarly concerns medical conditions rather than accidental occurrences. Option D is too broad because the mere absence of intentional conduct does not automatically satisfy the policy's definition of an accidental injury or covered accident. There must be the required causal connection to an insured accidental event.
The Series 17-70 content outline expressly tests Accidental Injury, classes of accident and health coverage, limited policies, and specifically Accident-Only coverage.
Accordingly, a fortuitous, unexpected accidental event is the operative trigger, making C the correct answer.
Question 9
Fair rental value is found under which coverage part of a dwelling policy?
Correct Answer: C
The correct answer is C - Coverage D. Under the standard Dwelling Property Policy, Coverage D - Fair Rental Value protects the insured against qualifying loss of rental income when covered damage makes property rented or held for rental unfit for its normal use.
Fair Rental Value represents the fair rental amount of the affected portion of the described location, reduced by expenses that do not continue while the property is uninhabitable. Payment generally continues for the shortest reasonable period required to repair or replace the damaged property. Standard dwelling-policy analysis expressly identifies Fair Rental Value as Coverage D.
Coverage B concerns Other Structures, while Coverage C covers Personal Property. Coverage E is Additional Living Expense, which principally protects an owner-occupant when a covered loss causes necessary increases in living expenses. Fair Rental Value and Additional Living Expense are related time-element protections but serve different financial interests.
For adjusters, this distinction is important because a landlord's lost rental income must be evaluated separately from physical building damage. The adjuster must determine rental value, expenses that ceased, the covered cause of loss, and the reasonable restoration period.
Therefore, Fair Rental Value is found under Coverage D, making option C correct.
Fair Rental Value represents the fair rental amount of the affected portion of the described location, reduced by expenses that do not continue while the property is uninhabitable. Payment generally continues for the shortest reasonable period required to repair or replace the damaged property. Standard dwelling-policy analysis expressly identifies Fair Rental Value as Coverage D.
Coverage B concerns Other Structures, while Coverage C covers Personal Property. Coverage E is Additional Living Expense, which principally protects an owner-occupant when a covered loss causes necessary increases in living expenses. Fair Rental Value and Additional Living Expense are related time-element protections but serve different financial interests.
For adjusters, this distinction is important because a landlord's lost rental income must be evaluated separately from physical building damage. The adjuster must determine rental value, expenses that ceased, the covered cause of loss, and the reasonable restoration period.
Therefore, Fair Rental Value is found under Coverage D, making option C correct.
Question 10
What may the insurer issue if the insured did NOT report a claim on time?
Correct Answer: B
The correct answer is B - Reservation of rights letter. When an insurer receives a claim presenting a potential coverage problem-such as allegedly late notice-the insurer may investigate while expressly reserving its rights under the policy. A reservation of rights advises the insured that participation in investigation or adjustment should not be interpreted as a waiver of the insurer's potential coverage defenses.
New York cases illustrate the use of reservations specifically involving late-notice issues. For example, an insurer may identify the policy's prompt-notice requirement and preserve the right to rely on untimely notice while obtaining the information necessary to determine its coverage position.
A declaratory judgment, option A, is a court determination, not simply a document the insurer "issues." The insurer may bring a declaratory judgment action when a coverage controversy requires judicial resolution.
Option C is not the appropriate mechanism. Option D is overly broad; late reporting does not automatically authorize the insurer to deny every claim without analysis of the applicable policy and New York law.
A critical New York distinction is that a reservation of rights is not automatically a substitute for a legally required timely disclaimer where Insurance Law requirements apply.
The Series 17-70 outline expressly tests Coverage Problems, Reservation of Rights Letter, Non-Waiver Agreement, and Declaratory Judgment Action.
New York cases illustrate the use of reservations specifically involving late-notice issues. For example, an insurer may identify the policy's prompt-notice requirement and preserve the right to rely on untimely notice while obtaining the information necessary to determine its coverage position.
A declaratory judgment, option A, is a court determination, not simply a document the insurer "issues." The insurer may bring a declaratory judgment action when a coverage controversy requires judicial resolution.
Option C is not the appropriate mechanism. Option D is overly broad; late reporting does not automatically authorize the insurer to deny every claim without analysis of the applicable policy and New York law.
A critical New York distinction is that a reservation of rights is not automatically a substitute for a legally required timely disclaimer where Insurance Law requirements apply.
The Series 17-70 outline expressly tests Coverage Problems, Reservation of Rights Letter, Non-Waiver Agreement, and Declaratory Judgment Action.
- Latest Upload
- 133InsuranceLicensing.NY-Independent-General-Adjuster.v2026-11-07.q35
- 131Salesforce.Analytics-Con-202.v2026-11-06.q31
- 211PureStorage.FlashArray-Implementation-Specialist.v2026-11-06.q111
- 190Fortinet.NSE7_FSN_AR-7.6.v2026-11-06.q101
- 201ServiceNow.CIS-CSM.v2026-11-06.q127
- 146Huawei.H12-521_V1.0-ENU.v2026-11-05.q59
- 215Google.Professional-Machine-Learning-Engineer.v2026-11-05.q172
- 245Microsoft.AZ-801.v2026-11-05.q228
- 188Splunk.SPLK-3003.v2026-11-05.q101
- 232Microsoft.MB-820.v2026-11-04.q131
[×]
Download PDF File
Enter your email address to download InsuranceLicensing.NY-Independent-General-Adjuster.v2026-11-07.q35 Practice Test
